Get started Bring yourself up to speed with our introductory content.

Walk through 5 essential DevOps pipeline stages

Any successful DevOps initiative is, by nature, multifaceted.

In the organizational and cultural sense, for example, DevOps demands close collaboration between various IT teams. And, in the technical sense, code must progress through multiple -- and ongoing -- phases within the overall software delivery cycle.

Embracing a DevOps culture change is critical to successful adoption -- and there is no shortage of best practices or team-building exercises to aid organizations on that journey. But a clear understanding of the more technical components of DevOps methodology, including the various phases that comprise it, is also essential for effective implementation.

IT organizations will define and approach these phases -- also known as DevOps pipeline stages -- in a way that's unique to their specific goals and requirements. The toolchains they use to underpin these phases will also vary. But, in general, a DevOps project progresses through the following phases, and might involve some combination of the following tool sets:

  1. Plan: Atlassian Jira or Confluence.
  2. Code and build: For coding, tools include various IDEs, as well as repositories like GitHub. The build phase includes automation tools such as Puppet and Chef.
  3. Test: Selenium, Cucumber and Tricentis.
  4. Release and deploy: Docker and Kubernetes.
  5. Operate and monitor: New Relic and Datadog.

Use the TechTarget video above to further explore these core DevOps pipeline stages. Discover the specific tasks they entail, what software developers and IT operations teams aim to accomplish in each, and why these phases happen continuously as opposed to intermittently. Walk away with an understanding of the DevOps infinity loop, and how one build cycle always works to inform the next.

View All Videos

Start the conversation

Send me notifications when other members comment.

Please create a username to comment.